The Commander Series Forum

Forum Home Forum Home
ImageCurrent Forum Category Cold War Commander, 1946+
ImageImageCurrent Forum CWC Rule Queries
ImageImageImageCurrent Topic Close Assaults
Post Reply
Post Reply
Author Page 1 
Chris R
United Kingdom
Joined 05/07/11
Last Visit 28/11/11
6 Posts
Posted on 05 July 2011 at 21:33:00 GMT
We've played a fair few games of CWC now but on Monday we had a big dust up in a village which led to much confusion over the close assault rules, viz;

Infantry fighting off armour (in our case French against BMPs); Do hits from non-IATW armed infantry count on armour (and does the armour get a save)? Or ... do they only count for the purposes of working out who won but the armour cannot be destroyed?

Presumably suppressed units cannot act as supports?

We had the situation where both sides in an assault (infantry) were destroyed. Is this right?
Badger
United States
Joined 21/10/04
Last Visit 22/01/16
91 Posts
Posted on 02 August 2011 at 23:59:16 GMT
That question came up in our game last night, too. There were infantry NOT explicitly armed with IATWs, and our guess at the time based on a hasty re-reading of the close assault rules was they they could NOT close assault armor without IATWs.

Do infantry have to have been "purchased" (points-wise) with IATWs to close assault armor?
ianrs54
England
Joined 08/11/08
Last Visit 19/01/23
1348 Posts
Posted on 03 August 2011 at 09:22:45 GMT
Close assult clobers evreyboby, no restriction.

IanS
Panzerleader71
Canada
Joined 26/01/08
Last Visit 18/02/15
765 Posts
Posted on 03 August 2011 at 18:26:07 GMT
You have to keep in mind that the CA rules take into account weapons like greneades and other explosives that infantry would have available but, not use in a regular fire fight. So, yes infantry CA'ing armour should be able to KO it whether or not they have specified AT weapons.
foxbat
France
Joined 20/08/10
Last Visit 19/04/23
137 Posts
Posted on 03 August 2011 at 19:05:57 GMT
"We had the situation where both sides in an assault (infantry) were destroyed. Is this right?"

Absolutely. Both sides can be destroyed in a CA.
Page 1